North Central Texas (NCT) Safe Room Rebate Program


We are not accepting applications at this time. However, the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) has opened an online waitlist for the North Central Texas Safe Room Rebate Program. This waitlist is open to all jurisdictions in the 16 county NCTCOG region and will not close. You can sign up for the waitlist below.

As we receive additional funding, we will begin contacting those on the waitlist in the order in which submissions were received. The anticipated timeframe to be contacted regarding placement in the program may be from 18 to 24 months.

However, please be aware that the waitlist has over 8,500 people on it and each round of funding released supplies around 30 shelters for each county in the NCTCOG region. Additionally, this program is not retroactive. Therefore any shelter installed before the receipt of an official award packet does not qualify for rebate.

Those who have already submitted an application for the Metro Safe Room Rebate Program do not need to reapply. Those who have already registered will not be able to log into the website until they are moved from the waitlist to the program list.


To participate in the program applicants must:
  • Be living or developing in one of the sixteen counties in the NCTCOG region.
    • Eligible counties include: Collin, Dallas, Denton, Erath, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, and Wise.
  • Be the homeowner. Contractors and developers may apply, but are capped at 3 safe rooms.
  • Contract with a National Storm Shelter Association (NSSA) or American Tornado Shelter Association (ATSA) certified supplier once placed in the program.
  • Share their Taxpayer Identification Number (Social Security number) with NCTCOG for use in internal financial processing procedures.
  • Agree to allow a final inspection of the installed safe room by a local government official.
  • Allow NCTCOG to share the GPS coordinates of their shelter with first responders in their jurisdiction.
  • NOT be living or developing in a 100 year floodplain (FEMA Flood Zone A/AE) or listed in the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA).

If the home is 45 years old or older, a review from the State Historical Preservation Office (SHPO) will be requested by NCTCOG on the applicant's behalf prior to the applicant being approved to receive a rebate. This does not deem the applicant ineligible, it is just an additional review phase required under certain conditions.

Program Overview [pdf]
MSRRP Fact Sheet [pdf]

Follow us!

 North Central Texas Council of Governments | 616 Six Flags Drive P.O. Box 5888 Arlington, TX 76005-5888
 Emergency Preparedness Department (817) 695-9235 | Fax (817) 608-2372